MinuteMe

How can we help you today?


Permissions

Permissions are defined by assigning Access levels to users for each meeting, and/or each occurrence. Permissions can only be modified by a user with Admin level access. It is not possible for a non-Admin access level user to identify who has Admin level access to a meeting or occurrence. This could only be achieved by connecting with MinuteMe support.

When a meeting is created, the creator becomes the first Admin-level user. They can assign access to other users (including other Admin-level users).

When access levels are added to the meeting, these become the default access levels for each occurrence created from this meeting. The access levels can be overridden for each occurrence when they are created, or at a later time.

When an occurrence is modified for the first time (i.e. attendees or permissions are changed, the agenda is updated, minutes or action items are added), the permissions are copied from the meeting to the occurrence. This means that any future changes made to the permissions of the meeting are not automatically applied to each occurrence. In this case, each occurrence will need to be updated separately.

Conversely, this also means, if you add permissions for a user to an occurrence, these permissions will not automatically flow up to the meeting or across to other occurrences, and therefore won’t apply to any other occurrences created for the meeting.

When access levels are added for a person with a level other than None, they will be sent an email and a notification (via their MinuteMe Notification Centre) requiring them to “accept” the access. They will only be able to view the associated meeting/occurrence once they have accepted the access. The person who added their access will receive a message in their Notification Centre with the outcome (acceptance or rejection) taken by the user.

This page describes:
  1. Meeting Permissions
  2. Occurrence Permissions

Meeting Permissions


How to set the Access Levels

Access levels can only be viewed by a user with Admin access.

Access levels are accessed by clicking the + icon in the list of meeting attendees, or by using the Edit option in the meeting’s action menu, on the Meeting details page.

Access level

What does each Access Level mean?

None
The user will have no access to the meeting via MinuteMe. The user may be added as an attendee so they can have action items recorded against them and so their attendance can be recorded.

You may use this option:

Read
The user can view the Meeting details page which displays the regular attendees, the recurrence schedule and agenda template. It is also a ‘view’ into each of the occurrences created for that meeting. The user will only see details for each of the occurrences they have access to. This includes the Action Items and Documents that are attached only to the occurrences a user has access to.

Tip: The user can add comments to an action item that is assigned to them, however they cannot delete any comments.

You may use this option:

Write
The user can do everything Read can. They can also modify the agenda template, delete comments for action items and documents, and delete action items and documents from the Meeting details page.

You may use this option:

Admin
The user can do everything Read/Write can. They can also edit the meeting settings which includes the ability to:

You may use this option:

Tip: We always recommend assigning at least a second person with Admin access level to be able to perform admin-level duties in your absence.

back to top


Occurrence Permissions


If a user is assigned access to an occurrence directly, without being given any access to the meeting, they will receive a special read-only view of the meeting to make sure they can navigate down through the Meeting details page to view the occurrences they have been granted access to. This permission is not visible in the meeting’s permission page.

back to top


How to set the Access Levels

Access levels can only be viewed by a user with Admin access.

Access levels are accessed by clicking the + add user icon in the list of occurrence attendees, or by using the Edit option in the occurrence’s action menu, on the Occurrence details page page.

Tip: If a user is not visible in this screen, they have no visibility of, and no access to, any of the information about this occurrence. This means they will not be able to search for it nor access it via any link to MinuteMe, even if an email is forwarded from a user that does have access to the occurrence.

back to top


What does each Access Level mean?

None
The user has no access to the occurrence via MinuteMe. The user may be added as a person who attends the meeting occurrence so they can have action items recorded against them. They are also available to be selected as recipients of the agenda email (if they attend the meeting occurrence) and minutes email (whether they attend or not).

You may use this option:

Read
The user can view minutes, action items, documents, preview minutes. Can download documents. Can add comments to action items assigned to themselves. Add private notes. These users will receive the daily meeting preparation email (if subscribed). These users are available to be selected as recipients of the agenda email (if they are an attendee) and minutes emails (whether they are an attendee or not).

Tip: The user can add comments to an action item that is assigned to them, however they cannot delete any comments.

You may use this option:

Write
The user can do everything Read can do, plus: can modify the minutes (including adding and deleting topics), add/remove action items, complete/uncomplete action items, add/remove documents, send agenda, preview minutes, complete the meeting and send minutes, add/remove comments on action items and documents.

You may use this option:

Admin
The user can do everything Read/Write can. They can also edit the occurrence settings which includes the ability to:

Being assigned Admin access level to the occurrence, has no bearing on the user’s access level to the meeting.

You may use this option:

Tip: We always recommend assigning at least a second person with Admin access level to be able to perform admin-level duties in your absence.

back to top